Leaders in Academia



There are many leaders contributing to establish and develop their institutes and department in universities in early stage of chemical education. They belong to 2nd and a part of 3rd generations.



Prof. Si-Jung Kim (1932-2017) was a professor at Department of Chemistry, Korea University He received his Ph. D. degree from Korea Univ. in 1967.

He served as Ministry of Science and Technology in 1993-94. more ...


Prof. Mu Shik Jhon (1932-2004) is well known for his ‘Significant Liquid Structure Theory (SST). He was a pioneer to find out the structure of water. He was an associate professor at Utah University and joined KAIST in 1971. more ...


  Prof. Tae Oan Ahn


Prof. Iwhan Cho (1936-2009) worked at Uniroyal after gotting Ph. D. degree from Brooklyn Poly and joined KAIST in 1972. He was polymer chemists and engineers. more ...


Prof. Sang Chul Shim (1937-2002) joined KAIST in 1971. His major was organic chemistry and contributed in photochemistry. He served the president of KAIST in 1994. more ...


Prof. Soo Moon Park (1941-2013) was professor at Univ. of New Mexico and joined POSTECH in 1996. His research interest was electrochemistry. more ...


Prof. Man Jung Han was a professor at Ajou Univ. He graduated from Seoul National University and got his Ph. D. degree from University of Mainz in Germany in 1970. more ...

Prof. Chongsuh Pyun  joined as a faculty member of Sogang Univ. in 1974. He served as a dean of College of Natural Science and Engineering during 1991-1993 and Vice President during 1997-1999. more ...


Prof. Jung-Il Jin is a polymer chemist and served as IUPAC president in 2008-2009. He was a professor of Korea Univ. He got his Ph.D. degree from City Univ. of New York in 1969. more ...


Prof. Ho-In Lee is currently the president of Jeonju University. His major fields are chemistry on catalysts and surface chemistry. He served as professor from 1980.  more ...


Prof. Woo-Sik Kim, Kyungpook National Univ.


Prof. Dong-ho Lee, Kyungpook National Univ.


Prof. Sang Chul Shim, Kyungpook National Univ.


Prof. 소현수

Prof. Sung Il Hong, SNU

Prof. Sung Chul Kim, KAIST

Prof. Sung Kee Chung, Postech

Prof. Chang Kiu Lee, Gangwon National Univ.

Prof. Soon-Bo Lee, SKKU

Prof. Jae Chon Choi

Prof. Myung Gun Kim

Prof. Hasuck Kim, SNU

Prof. InWon Park, SNU

Prof. Jo Woong Lee (1941- May 2006), SNU

Prof. Young-Sang Choi, Korea Univ.

Prof. Bong Young Chung, Korea Univ.

Prof. Kang-Jin Kim, Korea Univ.



This page was last updated on October 31, 2017.